This Southern Faggot's Blog


Community.
April 26, 2009, 4:31 pm
Filed under: Thinking Thinking | Tags:

Lately, all I have been able to think about is this idea of community and the lately overwhelming feeling of being absolutely community-less. I was talking with a far-away-friend the other day and our conversation got me to wondering why I hadn’t wondered off to the North to find this thing of community, or myself. I started to wonder what it is about me that makes living in a place where I don’t feel like I can truly relate to anyone possible. How can I live somewhere, with no true ‘we are a group of people who share this similar thing that allows us to think alike’ community, while it seems that this very lack of a thing is that drives everyone off?

Why don’t I want to move to NYC, or California, or Chicago, or D.C.? Why don’t I want to move somewhere, where I am almost absolutely sure that I would be able to find a group of people who had the same political, sexual, gender, whatever analysis as me? Would that make me happy? I don’t long for it like a lot of people do, so maybe I wouldn’t.

Maybe I am somehow just not looking in the right place, or maybe this thing of my community is not what I envisioned it to be at all. Could it be I have been lead to believe my entire life that a sense of community is something that is necessary for human happiness, but that isn’t true?

Is it possible to be a community with only yourself?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I like this question, it’s important.

Love —
mattilda

Comment by mattilda bernstein sycamore




Leave a Reply

