This Southern Faggot's Blog


Fried Green Tomatos

The weather has such an incredibly influence on my mood. It always amazes me.

Today is the first day of summer, where it has been nice enough to leave all the windows open and not worry about AC. I really, really love fall and winter. For a long part of my life, the weather changing meant that I would soon be sad all the time, so I would just walk through what fields and woods I could find. I would just walk and listen to music, either singing, or crying, or both.

Usually both.

Part of me misses something about that, I am not sure exactly what. Maybe I miss being emotional enough to cry about something. It seems that lately it is hard for me to care enough about anything to cry, which I hate.

I just finished the movie Fried Green Tomatos, which is easily my favorite movie, ever (and also happens to be one of the only things that can make me cry). It always makes me feel like I am missing something, missing a part of southern culture that I am in love with, but have actually truley lived. It always makes me realize how much I long to live in a house, in the middle of the woods, with just a few people I can trust. We would have a little house with lots of fans and no air conditioning. It would have a huge tree in the yard and I would have a swing and a huge tree house. Of course their would also be a fabulous garden and a little creek to swim in and really, thats all I would need. I could spend the rest of my life hiking through the woods and getting to know whatever tiny town I was living in. Sure I would visit the city some times, but those trips would need to be far and few between.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That sounds like a nice house, my dear…

Love —
mattilda

Comment by mattilda bernstein sycamore




Leave a Reply

