This Southern Faggot's Blog


Oh Clint McCance
October 27, 2010, 10:04 pm
Filed under: Thinking Thinking | Tags:

I feel like I should say something about this whole Clint McCance thing. I mean, sure it is upsetting. Clearly. But I hate it when groups like HRC only give a shit about the South when they have some interesting story to report on. It seems like across the board, people refuse to talk about the South, unless they have something negative to say and then it makes national fucking media.

Sure, Clint fucked up and made the mistake of thinking Facebook wasn’t a public forum. But his thoughts and opinions are not breaking news or anything new. Sure, it feels good for a little bit to be able to point out this one specific incident and wave your little finger, but this news coverage isn’t helping any kids in the South. HRC isn’t going to send down a million dollars to build a shelter, kids parents eyes are not going to be opened to new injustices all around them. Kids, teachers, principals and everyone else in schools (especially in small towns) who pay attention to their surroundings are saying “Duh.”

I don’t really have many thoughts pulled together about this, I don’t think. I wish I could be more hopeful and think that this won’t just blow over in a couple of weeks. I wish I could believe that something better will come from this, but I don’t. If anything, it will just make people keep their opinions to themselves more, which is even more dangerous because you don’t know who to trust.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

