This Southern Faggot's Blog


Fucking Fabulous Day.
October 29, 2010, 5:35 am
Filed under: New projects, Thinking Thinking | Tags: ,

Today! What a good today was!

I have not seen these 2 friends in fucking forever, but today I went over to the organization that they work with/for/run and it was really refreshing. I have not seen the two of then since the 3 of us were sitting on a board for this typical liberal ‘LGBT org’, which was a disaster. We got to gossip, which is always wonderful, but we also got to bounce ideas off each other for projects.

They don’t want to be working on legislative shit, but are interested in homelessness, HIV/AIDS, sexual health and syringe exchanges. I knew all of this already, but it was really good for me to hear that people were still interested in working on projects that are actually interesting and necessary.

Granted, past conversations like this, with people in this town, follow quickly with disappointment. But something about them seems different.

They just lost most of their funding, are super pissed off and are starting to see the limitations of the non-profit world, I think. Which is really refreshing.

We briefly talked about Against Equality and they seemed very interested. Maybe somehow they will get some money to bring the shining faces of the AE folks down here.

I didn’t realize how much I needed this, until I was leaving the church and i was almost giddy with excitement. At this point, I don’t care if these conversations go no where. Just being able to talk to someone, face to face, in person, who is as excited as I am about the idea of projects, is nice.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

