This Southern Faggot's Blog


Jim Grimsley
December 3, 2010, 9:29 pm
Filed under: People to remember | Tags: , , ,

Jim Grimsley is easily, my favorite fiction writer. By a really fucking long shot.

All of his writing has to do with rural Southern life, with a really Queer undercurrent. He is able to write about abuse in the biological family structure in a way that feels so personal and real. Everything he writes is so dark, but, somewhere, hope exists.

The book Dream Boy is absolutely stunning and I frequently find my self wishing that I could constantly be reading this book, every day, for the rest of my life. I just watched the movie and it is actually pretty good.

Something about his writing makes me physically sick to my stomach. The way he writes makes me feel homesick, but I don’t know what for. He is able to make so happy that I want to cry, but also more sad than I have ever been before. All of this at the same time is really confusing and through it all, I can’t help but to fall in love with all of the characters. Or, well, not the characters themselves, but just the possibility of their characters existing, somewhere. Maybe even somewhere within reach of me.

I guess I need to go to the library today.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

