This Southern Faggot's Blog


Faggots and Children
February 9, 2011, 10:25 pm
Filed under: Interesting day, People to remember | Tags: , , , ,

Somehow, even I don’t really like children, most of my jobs involve directly working with kids/young adults.

But it is strange, because in working around kids, I am realizing more and more every day, how much the Fagphobic society that I grew up in, has impacted me and how I think of myself.

Whenever I am talking to anyone about young folks and crushes they might have, or relationships, or anything like that, I always either leave the pronouns gender neutral, or always include both male and female pronouns, so that I am not assuming that they are (or will be) straight.

But every time I do this, I ALWAYS freak out a little inside and worry that in just by implying that they might be, or some day will be Queer, I will be accused of being a pedophile. I am always worrying about my pants being too tight, or my shirt too suggestive, or showing too much belly. I have been thinking a lot about this lately and I am realizing that somewhere in my mind, although I might not realize it at the time, I am almost always worrying about this, when I am around kids. This is really fucked up.

I think that this fear of being labeled as a child molester, pedophile, or whatever, might actually have been what most shaped my general dislike of children today. I wish that I could know what part of my dislike of kids came from this thing that I was brought up, always hearing.

Also it is snowing really hard here. I hate it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“I think that this fear of being labeled as a child molester, pedophile, or whatever, might actually have been what most shaped my general dislike of children today. I wish that I could know what part of my dislike of kids came from this thing that I was brought up, always hearing.”

What a great question, my dear…

Love —
mattilda

Comment by mattilda bernstein sycamore




Leave a Reply

