This Southern Faggot's Blog


White Girl Sadness
May 9, 2016, 4:17 pm
Filed under: People to remember | Tags: , ,

I can not get enough of this interview.

“I want to believe that love is not about surviving with someone, or getting resources from them. Love should be more than that. Maybe there is love in the poems, the love that the narrator was capable of at that particular moment in time.

bell hooks writes, in All About Love, “Individuals who want to believe that there is no fulfillment in love, that true love does not exist, cling to these assumptions because this despair is actually easier to face than the reality that love is a real fact of life but is absent from their lives.” Maybe, writing and living as a queer youth, I was unable to recognize my ability to accept and reciprocate the love which was given to me. Maybe that is what’s captured in this chapbook.”

It feels like so much of this interview is things I want to say, but don’t know how. So many of these are things I’m feeling, or have felt, but I typically don’t feel like I have someone to say them to. Aside from places like TSF.

I’ve never had a desire to read poetry, in my entire life. This is a strange feeling.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

great post

Comment by mukul chand




Leave a Reply

